Kogi State Government, committed to tackle the ecological challenges in the state-NEWMAP.



The Kogi State NEWMAP on Tuesday signed the contract for the design of five erosion sites in Kogi State. They are : Etahi in Okene LGA, Ogane-Aji in Dekina LGA, Olubo-Ojo in Ankpa LGA, Omigbo in Kabba-Bunu LGA, and Ugwolawo in Ofu LGA.


There are also three  emergency sites; which includes Afor Gam-Gam in Ankpa LGA, Federal University, Lokoja, and Greater Lokoja Water Works in Lokoja, as well as the Supervision of its Sites, today.


The Project Coordinator, Barr. Ladi Ahmed Jatto in her charge to the Consultant, Loraj Consortium, said she expects the assignment to be completed on schedule.

ALSO READ THIS:  Autonomy for states legislature: Kogi assembly Clerk lauds President Buhari, Gov. Bello


According to her, “The consortium has to be on top of its game to deliver World class design that meets the World Bank standards”.


The Commissioner for Environment and Natural Resources, Pharm. Sanusi Usman Yahaya in his remarks emphasized the need for urgent action since communities are grossly affected by gully erosion, and people have lost their homes.


In his response, the team leader for Loraj Consortium, Chief Leo Anuforo expressed his gratitude for winning the contract and promised to deliver on schedule.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.